Skip to Content
Agencies | Governor
Search Virginia.Gov
Protecting You and Your Environment Virginia Department of Health
Home | VDH Programs | Find It! A-Z Index | Newsroom | Administration | Jobs

Onsite Sewage and Well Fee Information


The Virginia Department of Health was directed by the General Assembly to replace general funding for critical environmental health services with increased fees for services/permits effective July 1, 2010

2010 Appropriations Act

Authority: §§ 32.1-11 through 32.1-12, 32.1-31, 32.1-163 through 32.1-176, 32.1-198 through 32.1-211, 32.1-246, and 35.1-1 through 35.1-26, Code of Virginia; Title V of the U.S. Social Security Act; and Title X of the U.S. Public Health Service Act.

A. 1. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of Health shall charge a fee of no more than $425.00, for a construction permit for on-site sewage systems designed for less than 1,000 gallons per day, and alternative discharging systems not supported with certified work from an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an authorized onsite soil evaluator.

2. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of the Health shall charge a fee of no more than $350.00, for a certification letter less than 1,000 gallons per day not supported with certified work from an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an authorized onsite soil evaluator.

3. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of the Health shall charge a fee of no more than $225.00, for a construction permit for an onsite sewage system designed for less than 1,000 gallons per day when the application is supported with certified work from a licensed onsite soil evaluator.

4. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of the Health shall charge a fee of no more than $320.00, for the certification letter for less than 1,000 gallons per day supported with certified work from an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an authorized onsite soil evaluator.

5. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through §3 2.1-176, Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of Health shall charge a fee of no more than $300.00, for a construction permit for a private well.

6. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of Health shall charge a fee of no more than $1,400.00, for a construction permit or certification letter designed for more than 1,000 gallons per day.

Onsite Sewage and Well Application Fees
Effective July 1, 2010

Application Type  Fee 
Certification letter, no OSE/PE documentation (no charge for well)  $350
Construction permit for onsite sewage system only, no OSE/PE documentation  $425
Combined well and onsite system construction permit, no OSE/PE documentation  $725
Certification letter with OSE/PE documentation,  <= 1,000 gpd  $320
Certification letter with OSE/PE documentation, > 1,000 gpd  $1,400
Construction permit for only onsite sewage with OSE/PE documentation, <= 1,000 gpd  $225
Construction permit for only onsite sewage with OSE/PE documentation, > 1,000 gpd  $1,400
Combined well and onsite system construction permit with OSE/PE documentation,  <= 1,000 gpd  $525
Combined well and onsite system construction permit with OSE/PE documentation, > 1,000 gpd  $1,700
Private well only, with or without OSE/PE documentation  $300

The new fees more closely reflect the cost to the Commonwealth for processing applications. No application fees are charged for repairing a failing onsite sewage disposal system or for replacing a well. Applicants whose family income falls below the Federal Poverty Guidelines are eligible for waiver of the above fees. Proof of income is required.


Last Updated: 07-30-2011

Printable Version

E-mail This Page